Digits – Take 2

Tanaquil digits 2012

A bit more than one year after her first digits challenge, Strawberry Singh is asking us how our shapes have evolved since the introduction of residents made mesh clothing in Second Life.

Another change from last year is that Berry is inviting us to use a new Avatar ruler which should give more correct values. This should also give us all a common base to compare our heights. I was estonished to discover Tanaquil’s shape is much taller than what I used to think. She is 1m89 (6’6”) while the official viewer announces 1m69. That’s quite a difference. I am not sure I will shrink her much more though as proportions in Second Life are so wrong, for furnitures for example, that making smaller avatar will only make them look like a bit more lost in chairs designed for giants.

Strawberry Singh is also asking us to answer three questions about our shapes:

1. How has the introduction of mesh affected your SL, if at all? Are you open to wearing mesh often or do you still shy away from it?

I have a love and hate relationship with mesh. While I love the clothes to look so much better, not only because they are following the moves of the body but also because it allows high resolution texturesn, I hate all the restrictions it is bringing. Nethertheless, I am almost wearing mesh all the time, mainly because most of my favorite designers have gone to all mesh creations. Unfortunately, other designers I used to like aswell and who have not joined the mesh revolution seem to release much less new goodies. I hope they won’t disappear. If they were releasing nice items, I would probably buy them, mesh or not.

2. Have you changed your shape to fit into mesh? If so, did you go bigger or smaller?

Yes, though I keep changing my shape all the time. I have tried to make a shape according to the standard sizing system but I didn’t like it and it seems standard size does not seem the same for everyone. With one designer’s clothes, it is going to fit perfectly but when I try another’s it is not ok and I have to modify the shape. In other words, I almost change my shape for every outfit and in the end, I don’t care anymore to try to fit into a standard shape. I keep it roughly between S and M. I have first shrinked the shape to make it fit a S but it is too skinny for my taste without clothes so I have made her rounder and more feminine again though at times, a glimpse of flesh is showing through but I do not care much.

3. Do you think the mesh deformer will resolve a lot of the issues people seem to have with mesh and will it encourage you to wear mesh more often, if you don’t already?

I am curious to see what the mesh deformer is going to make but I haven’t tried to follow its development so I don’t know much about it. I haven’t looked at my digits from last year so I have no idea if it has changed a lot, it might or not as it changes all the time anyway. I am not sure the mesh deformer will make my second life much easier. Wait and see.

To conclude this post, I would like to thank Strawberry Singh who is giving us an opportunity to see how shapes are evolving with the changes brought to Second Life.

Credits:

Skin: –Belleza– Lily V1 Med 2
Hair: [LeLutka]-CACHET – SummerTime
Lingerie: Zaara : Aksaka lingerie *garnet*
Pose: Diesel Works

One thought on “Digits – Take 2

Leave a Reply

