New Windlight Settings

Tests WL Settings

Today, I have been playing with my windlight settings. For some time now, I was annoyed by the fact the windlight settings I was using were overwriting the shadows of the skins drawn by the designers. No matter what, the shape was predominating. When you have a nice shape, this can be good but at the same time, you are loosing details and in the end, your photography does not reflect at all what you see in the world of Second Life.

I have finaly come up with these new settings which are smoother. They offer less contrast but all in all, they respect better the shadows and give a better rendering of the skins. The above picture shows you my old windlight settings and the new ones. These are raw shots without photoshop magic but cropping. If you are interested in trying the new one, you can download the .xml file here. I will probably refine it as time goes by. For now, I find it a bit too orange but it took me over a year to make the first one. Consider it as work in progress you can improve according to your own tastes.

I have decided to make two posts today, one with the windlight settings, the other with fashion so stay tuned for the credits.

Quick edit: these settings are made for pictures taken in a studio. If you are looking for settings to take pictures on location, these will probably look a bit weird.

6 thoughts on “New Windlight Settings

Leave a Reply

