Kirstens or Beta?

Hello,

At Cheesecake

A new Second Life Beta viewer – version 2.6 was released on 21rst March. I won’t go into details about what’s new, it is mainly bug fixes and the option to choose between basic and advanced version of the viewer to help new residents to navigate faster. I was curious to see if I would still crash as much while taking pictures. Unfortunately, the answer is yes. Lately, I’ve been using the Kirstens Viewer S21 (6) as it allows for easy shadows, depth of field and not crashing at every single try at snapshotting. But unfortunately, I am not so happy with the quality of the pictures, mainly the anti-aliasing is better with the official beta. I am also seeing problems with alphas which tickle me.

I am probably too picky with Kirstens as I take snapshots with a 4000×5000 pixels resolution in png. When I downsize, it often removes the flaws and in the end, noone notices or care… but i know it is there. So, after 2 hours of tries, crashes, and some hair pulls, i’ve come to some compromise with beta: lower resolution, lower anti-aliasing and I keep the same quality as with Kirstens, except that Beta has animation texture on and Kirstens will lag on me to being unable to move at all.

I’ll have some more tries in the coming days, though being the lazy ass I am, I am likely to go back to Kirstens for easy pictures. I so wished I could push the official beta viewer as much as I am Kirstens.

Credits:
Skin: :Curio: :GP: Sundust Frex [Dark] Lustre-Pure 2
Eyelashes: :: Exodi :: Makeups – Eyelashes – Glamour
Eyes: FASHISM ‘Sunrise’ Eyes – Silver&Green 3 (S)
Hair: *Dura**Game1(Brown)
Shirt: [BUKKA]border-shirt ::black&gray::
Sunglasses: [BUKKA]Sunglasses “glossy” ::All-ColorSelect::
Necklace: MIEL ECHO NECKLACE
Location: Cheesecake

Bye bye,
Tana

Leave a Reply

